How To Send Someone To Your Facebook Restricted List

What is the restricted list on Facebook – When you add your friend to your “Restricted” list on Facebook, the person will be prevented from seeing what you share.

Interestingly, Facebook provides a few built-in “Lists” for categorizing your friends.

How To Send Someone To Your Facebook Restricted List

You can use these lists to control who you share with. One of the lists is called “Restricted”.

See: how to find singles on facebook

When you add someone to your “Restricted” list they will only be able to see your “Public” content or posts of yours that you tag them in”. It works like this:

  • Share an update with “Friends” Friend icon, people in your “Restricted” list won’t see it.
  • Share an update with “Everyone” Globe icon, people in your “Restricted list will see it.
  • Tag your friend in an update, they will see it even if they are in your “Restricted” list.

Desktop:

Hover over the Friends button again and this time choose “Add to another list”.

Select “Restricted”.

If this person was in another list, select that list to un-check and remove them from the list.

How To Send Someone To Your Facebook Restricted List

Mobile:

Click on the “Friends” button again. Choose Friends, and then “Edit Friend Lists” (you might not see this, in which case just continue).

You’ll see some possible lists – I have a few custom lists, your screen might look a bit different. Scroll down and select “Restricted”.

How To Send Someone To Your Facebook Restricted List

If this person was in another list, select that list to un-check and remove them from the list.

Prevent a friend’s updates from showing up on your Facebook Feed:
Desktop:

Go to your friend’s timeline page by clicking on their name. The “Following” button will be checked, as shown, meaning that you currently follow the person (i.e. you see their updates on your News Feed). Click the “Unfollow” option to unfollow them.

How To Send Someone To Your Facebook Restricted List

The button will change to the word “Follow”.

How To Send Someone To Your Facebook Restricted List

Mobile:

In the Facebook app, first, go to the friend’s timeline. Click the small “Friends” button and you’ll see the following choices – Following, Block, and Friends. Click “Friends”.

How To Send Someone To Your Facebook Restricted List

You’ll now have the choices to Unfriend, Take a Break, Unfollow, or Edit Friends list. Click “Unfollow”.

How To Send Someone To Your Facebook Restricted List

You should no longer see this friend’s updates on your News Feed. You can still see their updates if you visit their profile/timeline page.

Now that you have limited what you’ll see about this person, go ahead and limit what they’ll see about you.

Is this fool-proof?

No. There are a few other settings that could expose some of your information to the friend you are trying to ditch.

For example, if you have a mutual friend in common, and that mutual friend tags you both, then your friend might see that you’ve been tagged.

Or, if you and your “frenemy” both follow a public page on Facebook like…uh…good example here….okay let’s say you both follow that Star Trek guy George Takei, and you click “Like” on George’s funny picture, then your friend could potentially see that you’ve liked it. That’s because she is also a fan of George and George’s post are available to “Everyone”.

So while there is no guarantee of total erasure of this person from your Facebook life, this is about as close as you can come to unfriending or blocking a person.

That is it on How To Send Someone To Your Facebook Restricted List.

I hope this article was helpful.

Please share it with your friends and loved ones!!!

Facebook Comments

1 thought on “How To Send Someone To Your Facebook Restricted List”

Leave a Comment