Facebook tag – Facebook users from time to time tag other users on the giant social media platform.
For those of us that would want to know, Facebook tagging means someone else in a post, photo or status update that you share.
A tag may also notify that person that you have mentioned them or referred to them in a post or a photo, and provide a link back to their profile.
You can tag someone in a photo that you share to identify them in the photo.
You can tag someone in a status update to make sure that they see that post.
FACEBOOK TAGGING AND PRIVACY
On Facebook, there are some Privacy settings you can set to limit who can see posts and photos where you are tagged.
See, if your Facebook friend posts a photo, and you are in that photo, then usually only her friends (or whichever audience she chooses) will see the photo. But, if she TAGS you in the photo, then potentially YOUR friends will see it too.
But you can limit the visibility of photos and posts that you are tagged in. Just take a look at the Privacy settings page and click on “Timeline and Tagging”.
For “Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline?” you want that to say “Yes”. With this setting enabled, you will be notified when you are tagged and can choose whether an individual tag will show up on your Timeline. (For example you can preview a photo to make sure you look good before all your friends see it!)
Next, take a look at the setting “Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in on your timeline?” Your choices here are the standard audience settings such as Everyone, Friends, Friends or Friends, Custom or Only Me. This is the most private option, as your friends will not see posts that you are tagged in (assuming you did not tag yourself; we’re talking about posts by other people here). You can also choose a custom audience as I’ve done in the example below.
These are my suggested settings for Timeline and Tagging for those who want to take some control over tags on Facebook.
More about tagging from Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/help/124970597582337
HOW TO REMOVE A TAG OF YOURSELF FROM A FACEBOOK PHOTO
So what if your friend did indeed post an unflattering photo of you? You can also “untag” yourself from a photo on Facebook.
Click Options at the bottom of the photo.
Check to untag yourself:
Click Remove tag, and voilà, you are no longer tagged in the photo! The photo remains on Facebook but the tag is gone. This photo will no longer show up on your timeline under the heading “Photos of You”.
That is it on How To Untag Yourself On Facebook.
I hope this article was helpful.
Please share this article with your friends and loved ones!!!